Peace comes from knowing that the Savior knows who we are and knows that we have faith in Him, love Him, and keep His commandments, even and especially amid life’s devastating trials and tragedies. The Lord’s answer to the Prophet Joseph Smith in Liberty Jail brings solace to the heart:
“My son, peace be unto thy soul; thine adversity and thine afflictions shall be but a small moment;
“And then, if thou endure it well, God shall exalt thee on high.”
Remember, “God is not the author of confusion, but [the author] of peace.” For those who reject God, there is no peace. We all participated in the councils of heaven that provided for moral agency, knowing that there would be mortal pain and even unspeakable tragedy because of the abuse of agency. We understood that this could leave us angry, bewildered, defenseless, and vulnerable. But we also knew that the Savior’s Atonement would overcome and compensate for all of the unfairness of mortal life and bring us peace.
Elder Marion D. Hanks had a framed statement on his wall by Ugo Betti: “To believe in God is to know that all the rules will be fair, and that there will be wonderful surprises.”
Events often occur that rob us of peace and heighten our sense of vulnerability.
Agency is essential to the plan of happiness. It allows for the love, sacrifice, personal growth, and experience necessary for our eternal progression. This agency also allows for all the pain and suffering we experience in mortality, even when caused by things we do not understand and the devastating evil choices of others. The very War in Heaven was waged over our moral agency and is essential to understanding the Savior’s earthly ministry.
President Heber J. Grant described the Savior’s peace this way: “His peace will ease our suffering, bind up our broken hearts, blot out our hates, engender in our breasts a love of fellow men that will suffuse our souls with calm and happiness.” – Elder Quentin L. Cook  April 2013 General Conference

“In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world” (John 16:33).

We need not fear the future, nor falter in hope and good cheer, because God is with us. Among the first recorded words of counsel that Jesus gave to His newly called disciples in Galilee was the two-word admonition, “Fear not” (Luke 5:10). He repeated that counsel many times during His ministry. To His Saints in our day, the Savior has said, “Be of good cheer, and do not fear, for I the Lord am with you, and will stand by you” (D&C 68:6).

Trials may come, and we may not understand everything that happens to us or around us. But if we humbly, quietly trust in the Lord, He will give us strength and guidance in every challenge we face. When our only desire is to please Him, we will be blessed with a deep inner peace. – Elder Bruce D. Porter April 2013 General Conference

“Sometimes He lets it rain” Katherine Nelson (Song)

I don’t always understand the storms I have to weather, but I have faith and trust that they are for my good.  I have the choice to allow Him in or walk away.  I learn so much from watching my children and the choices they make.  Some  days I just shake my head,, sometimes I cry, and sometimes I laugh  – I know they each have to learn for themselves but I don’t always understand the way they choose to go about things.  It always makes me think of my heavenly father.  What love he must have for each of us to send the Savior to atone for each one of us.  I know a mothers love for each of my children, but can not comprehend His love for me.  How hard it must be for Him to watch me walk away and the joy he feels when I choose to be nearer to Him.

“Dancing in the rain” – Hilary Weeks (Song)

I hope that I can keep this perspective during my storms.   I find myself wanting to run and hide but what would I be missing if I did.  I am by no means perfect but when I do have this perspective I feel more at peace and more joy and isn’t that what I’m supposed to be striving for.   I love the line in this song that talks about fears washing away and thanking the rain for coming.  How often do I see the storm of life from this perspective.  I don’t usually.  But I have tried this week.  One day this week I heard this song then I had a sweet neighbor bring me a Tulip from her garden to let me know she was thinking of me during a time that I was struggling.  I had to go back out to my garden just to fight off the tears.  I am grateful for that moment that I was able to see that the Lord truly knows me and what I needed right then.   I need to stop walking away and turn myself over to my Savior.  I need to take His outstretched hand and not let go because I know He will never let go no matter how the tempest rages.  Peace, be still…..with patience bear thy grief and pain…..here to rescue me from danger interposed his precious blood…prone to wander prone to leave the God I love…..

Steph.
 Image
