The past week I have been studying about a medical issue regarding Adrenal Glands.  What I have found is quite intriguing.  It is amazing how two glands the size of walnuts can control so much in our bodies.  It is true that by small and simple things are great things brought to pass.  (Alma 37:6 Now ye may suppose that this is afoolishness in me; but behold I say unto you, that by bsmall and simple things are great things brought to pass; and small means in many instances doth confound the wise.)

But it also reminds me how amazing our bodies are and that they were created by a loving Heavenly Father.  Our Adrenal Glands are responsible for helping us deal with stress either short-term or long-term and helps us maintain balance through the stressful situation.  But it is also important to note that they were never meant to sustain us through every day life for several years.  Heavenly Father knew what he was doing when he created us, but more importantly he knew what each of us would need to survive in this life.

In my studying I found that the most common way to help support your Adrenal Glands is positive thinking, laughter and being at peace.  We are that we may have joy.  (2 Nephi 2:25 – Adam fell that men might be; and men are that they might have joy)   These little glands control so much but we wear them out on a daily basis because we are always stressed, worried, anxious, or frustrated with the world around us.  We need to give them a break and rest from our worries.  But how do we do that?  We can’t always be worrying about the things we can’t change and do what we can about the things we can change.

 I’ve thought about rest….The world was created in 6 days on the 7th the Father rested (Moses 3:2 And on the seventh day I, God, ended my work, and all things which I had made; and I arested on the bseventh day from all my work, and all things which I had made were finished, and I, God,saw that they were good;).

 We have to rest our bodies, minds, and spirits.  But what does that rest look like?  As I have pondered this question I came upon a thought.  For me rest happens in a few different ways.  Not only do I try to rest on Sunday and attend my church meetings but I rest from my thoughts as well.  During the Sacrament I try to focus on the Savior not the world around me, now granted my kids don’t always allow me to do this, but I try.  I try to spend the rest of my Sunday thinking of the Savior and how to improve my week.  But I also find rest in the Temple.  The moment I walk in until I leave I am at rest because I am overwhelmed with a sense of peace and I am able to think about the things that I can change and not what I can’t.  Rest doesn’t mean not doing anything, or being lazy, or sleeping all the time.  Sometimes it just means being at peace with things and not always having our bodies on overload.

What about positive thinking and laughter….well I think of a very wise Apostle and a talk he gave in General Conference a few years ago.  His name is Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin and the name of the Conference talk was “Come What May and Love It,” given in October 2008.

“How can we love days that are filled with sorrow? We can’t—at least not in the moment. I don’t think my mother was suggesting that we suppress discouragement or deny the reality of pain. I don’t think she was suggesting that we smother unpleasant truths beneath a cloak of pretended happiness. But I do believe that the way we react to adversity can be a major factor in how happy and successful we can be in life.

If we approach adversities wisely, our hardest times can be times of greatest growth, which in turn can lead toward times of greatest happiness.

Over the years I have learned a few things that have helped me through times of testing and trial. I would like to share them with you.

  • The first thing we can do is learn to laugh.  Have you ever seen an angry driver who, when someone else makes a mistake, reacts as though that person has insulted his honor, his family, his dog, and his ancestors all the way back to Adam? Or have you had an encounter with an overhanging cupboard door left open at the wrong place and the wrong time which has been cursed, condemned, and avenged by a sore-headed victim?
  • The second thing we can do is seek for the eternal. You may feel singled out when adversity enters your life. You shake your head and wonder,“Why me?”  Learning to endure times of disappointment, suffering, and sorrow is part of our on-the-job training. These experiences, while often difficult to bear at the time, are precisely the kinds of experiences that stretch our understanding, build our character, and increase our compassion for others.
  • The third thing we can do is understand the principle of compensation.The Lord compensates the faithful for every loss. That which is taken away from those who love the Lord will be added unto them in His own way. While it may not come at the time we desire, the faithful will know that every tear today will eventually be returned a hundredfold with tears of rejoicing and gratitude.
  • The fourth thing we can do is put our trust in our Heavenly Father and His Son, Jesus Christ.  He who descended below all things will come to our aid. He will comfort and uphold us. He will strengthen us in our weakness and fortify us in our distress. He will make weak things become strong. 3

We are weak and he will make us strong.  We are simple but by us he brings great things to pass.  We all need to rest in the Savior to get through our adversity.

“I Will Rest in You” – Mindy Gledhill

“You’re Not Alone” – Meredith Andrews

Steph.

