I’m still not awesome at writing every day, but that’s ok.  The past month has taken my breath away and it’s all I can do to just keep up.  As I come into April and start my 6 month evaluation of my life and try to get things back in order I can see just how hard it is to maintain my daily balancing act.  

Today was my Grandfather’s funeral and my fifth grandchild is now one week old.  So much happened in just one week.  The full circle of life, if you will.  Today I appreciate even more the time I have with my loved ones.  

The funeral was a great tribute to a wonderful man.  He was considered grumpy, but so many people were there to honor this great man’s life.  Little one, old lady thumb and her four daughters, gonna go the rounds, and going bummin’ are all phrases that I remember him saying the most.  But I know he loved his family very much.  He was a hard worker and set the example of how we each should go at any job we are asked to do.  There were no conditions on grandpa’s love no matter how hard he tried to pretend that there was.   I love him and I will miss him, but I know he is not gone forever.  I know that I will see him again.  

 
The photo is one my cousin posted on Facebook that I felt captured the day well.  Thanks Brittany for posting.

With the arrival of my newest grand baby I can’t help but in awe of how innocent she is.  She is dependent on her parents for everything and she makes sure they know when she is in need of something.  Life is so precious and valuable.  Every minute we have is a gift.  I’m not certain I’m always using that gift wisely.  I’m now the grandparent and want to make sure that not only my children know how much I love them, but also my grandchildren.  I want to make sure I am setting the best example I can for all of them.

Tomorrow will be a new day.  A chance to begin again and do better than I did today.  There are so many things I want to do, but I don’t even know where to start.  That’s where the balancing act comes in.  I need to make sure that I’m taking care of my needs so that I can take care of my family’s needs. Then I need to make time to serve others and help with my family outside of my home.  I also have a home to take care of and a yard with a garden that need to be tended to.   The balance will come.  It’s a learned art. I’m grateful I was able to do the balancing act and be able to spend time with my grandpa before he died and also be able to stay with my daughter for a couple of days after she had her baby.  I’m grateful for each day I have to be with my kids and learn right alongside of them.  I am grateful for my life even the times that aren’t exactly what I had planned.  Sometimes it’s the unplanned things that are the best moments to learn from.

On to the next adventure and whatever tomorrow brings.

